Live Webinar: Discover the future of market research

Instant Registration

Live Webinar: Discover the future of market research

Instant Registration
Online Trends

Published June 11th 2019

E3 2019 Live Blog: Social Media Reaction in Charts

Our annual coverage of the E3 conference returns. Check out our live blog for the latest social data on each conference and major announcement.

We’re back for the fourth year in a row, and we’re ready with the data.

This post is now up to date with data from each of the major conferences, including the top moments and most-mentioned games.

If you’ve got any questions feel free to drop us a message at react@brandwatch.com.

Enjoy!

Skip to an analysis

Who won E3 2019?

Each year we look at the conferences and the games that generate the most mentions.

The biggest conference

Looking at mentions occurring during air time that were related to each conference (e.g. #BE3, “Nintendo press conference”, etc), here’s how they each looked:

 

The biggest game

Which games triumphed? Once again, looking at mentions that occurred within each of the major conferences, we looked for which games got the biggest mention volumes as they were announced.

 

 

Congratulations, Cyber Punk 2077. This is definitely proof that celebrity cameos can pay off when it comes to making a splash at E3, with Keanu Reeves’ spot in the Xbox conference causing the biggest minute-long mention spike of all the conferences this year.

Since it’s pretty tight at the top, here are the actual volumes:

E3 2019: The top-mentioned games

Rank Game Number of mentions during respective conference
1 Cyber Punk 2077 14850
2 Final Fantasy 7 Remake 14630
3 Watch Dogs Legion 14260
4 Animal Crossing 10220
5 GhostWire Tokyo 9890
Data gathered via Brandwatch Analytics during conference air times for each game respectively

Xbox conference

This conference aired 1pm – 2:37pm PT, 4pm – 5:37pm ET, and 9pm – 10:37pm BST (Sunday 9 June).

Xbox: Top line stats

  • The Xbox conference was mentioned 130,830 times across social media during its air time
  • The biggest spike in conversation was at 9:24pm (BST), driven by Keanu Reeves’ Cyberpunk 2077 cameo. This spike represented 2,380 mentions in a single minute
  • Looking at tweets from gender-categorized authors, 73% were from male authors (27% female)

Xbox: The top moments

Keanu Reeves’ appearance left social buzzing for several minutes, but there were a number of spikes throughout the conference. Here are a few highlights:

Xbox: The top games

Speaking of Keanu Reeves, the star made a huge impact on the success of Cyberpunk 2077, which was by far the top-mentioned game during the conference.

It’s followed by Gears of War 5 and the very spooky looking Blair Witch game.

Bethesda conference

This conference aired between 5:30pm – 6:50pm PT and 8:30pm – 9:50pm ET (Sunday 9 June) and between 1:30am – 2:50 BST (Monday 10 June).

Bethesda: Top line stats

  • The Bethesda conference was mentioned 63,310 times across social media during its air time
  • The biggest spike in conversation was at 2:25am, during the announcement of the game Deathloop
  • Looking at tweets from gender-categorized authors, 71% were from male authors (29% female)

Bethesda: The top moments

While Deathloop caused the biggest spike in conversation, there were several other big moments that drove conversation. Here are some of the highlights:

Bethesda: The top games

While Deathloop caused the biggest spike in a minute, and while DOOM Eternal got a large bulk of the screen time (while being teased from the beginning), it was Ghostwire, announced fairly early in the conference, that got the most mentions.

People are hyped.

 

Ubisoft conference

This conference aired between 1pm – 2.15pm PT, 4pm – 5.15pm ET, and 9pm – 10:15 BST (Monday 10 June).

Ubisoft: Top line stats

  • The Ubisoft conference was mentioned 61,840 times across social media during its air time
  • The biggest spike in conversation was at 9:38pm (BST), responding to a dog on stage alongside actor Jon Bernthal
  • Looking at tweets from gender-categorized authors, 72% were from male authors (28% female)

Ubisoft: The top moments

While Bam Bam the dog caused the biggest mention spike as part of the section on Ghost Recon: Breakpoint, there were several highlights that got people talking.

The extended section on Watch Dogs Legion towards the beginning generated a huge amount of conversation, with viewers loving the inclusion of Helen, the badass senior citizen.

Ubisoft: The top games

Like we said above, Watch Dogs Legion was given a lot of air time and it paid off in terms of social media mentions. It was way ahead of the other games.

A cool addition to the top four is new title Roller Champions, which gathered more attention than some of the pre-existing franchises.

Square Enix conference

This conference aired between 6pm and 7:20pm PT, and 9pm – 10:20pm ET (Monday 10 June), and between 2am and 3:20am BST (Tuesday 11 June)

Square Enix: Top line stats

  • The Square Enix conference was mentioned 44,180 times across social media during its air time
  • The biggest spike in conversation was at 3:19am, as the conference came to a close with Avengers
  • Looking at tweets from gender-categorized authors, 73% were from male authors (27% female)

Square Enix: The top moments

There were a number of things that caused spikes in conversation, even if Avengers caused the biggest one at the end.

Square Enix: The top games

While Avengers caused the biggest spike in mentions, it was the Final Fantasy VII remake, which was given a lot of air time at the beginning of the conference, that blew all the other games out of the water on mention volume.

Here are the top 10 most mentioned games during the Square Enix conference:

Nintendo conference

This conference aired between 9am – 9:45am PT, 12pm – 12:45pm ET, and 5pm – 5:45pm BST (Tuesday 11 June)

Nintendo: Top line stats

  • The Nintendo conference was mentioned 43,390 times across social media during its air time
  • The biggest spike in conversation was at 17:44pm, as the sequel to Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild was revealed
  • Looking at tweets from gender-categorized authors, 67% were from male authors (33% female)

Nintendo: The top moments

There were plenty of moments that got people talking during Nintendo’s short conference, but it was the final moments that really sent social into a spin.

Nintendo: The top games

Despite being the driver behind a huge mention spike at the end of the conference, the Breath of the Wild sequel isn’t the top mentioned game of the Nintendo conference.

It was actually Animal Crossing that took the title.

Methodology

This year we are tracking mentions of all of the above conferences across public social media posts. We’re tracking the official (and unofficial) hashtags, as well as mentions like “Nintendo conference” or “Bethesda press conference” etc. We’re also tracking very general mentions within the #E3 conversation.

All game mentions tracked for this blog are within the E3 conversation, not standalone (they must be mentioned alongside something E3 related to be included).

We’re tracking these mentions on a 10% sample..

Got a question?

Email react@brandwatch.com for more information on our data.

Share this post
Search the blog
React Newsletter

Sign-up to receive the latest insights into online trends.

Sign up
facets Created with Sketch.
facets-bottom Created with Sketch.
New: Consumer Research

Be Consumer Fit.

Adapt and win with Consumer Research, our new digital consumer intelligence platform.

Crimson Hexagon has merged with Brandwatch. You’re in the right place!

From May 8th, all Crimson Hexagon products are now on the Brandwatch website. You’ll find them under ‘Products’ in the navigation. If you’re an existing customer and you want to know more, your account manager will be happy to help.